Life, Left Over

The Halloween Party

Posted on: November 8, 2011

So. The Halloween Party. First off, I’ll tell you that everything turned out great and we had a lot of fun. πŸ™‚ Now, for the whole story. I’m just scattering the pictures among the story. They’re not in any particular order. πŸ™‚


Part of our outdoor setup. If you look closely, you’ll see one of the pumpkins is “The Black Cat” and the other is “The House of Usher” (before its fall, I suppose).

Friday was spent getting as many things ready as possible. The cupcakes and breadsticks and deviled eggs needed to be made the day of, but frosting and pesto and the like can all be made in advance. I don’t remember now what it even was, but something was going very very wrong, and I was frustrated as hell by the time Jonathan got home. I do remember that someone was being a jackass and trying to keep them all late, but someone else told that person to STFU and let the guys go home. Jonathan was too late to change into his costume, and I was too frustrated to bother, so Missy was the only one who went to the MWR party at Remington Park in costume.


I am so proud of this thing, there are no words.

It was a ton of fun, that party. It was cold as hell, but we got there as early as we could and the sun wasn’t completely down yet. We went on a “scary” hayride and then went through a Haunted Trail. Our daughter has no concept of being afraid of things, for real. No fear at all. We got some candies, played some games, ate cookies and hot chocolate, and made it home before too late. We all had fun, and both of us adults were in MUCH better moods.

Click this link to read the rest – there is SO MUCH more.


Jonathan’s scarecrow. He’s on the other side of the walkway from the pumpkins. How’d he turn out?

Jonathan carved the last pumpkins and I finished a few more things, and we didn’t make it to bed until rather late. I had another of my backache/heartburn things (ugh ugh ugh) and didn’t get a lot of sleep, but oh well. Next morning we got up bright and early. Had some errands to run first. We hit several liquor stores – we found Gosling’s rum, but apparently ginger beer is not to be had in this town. So we got some ginger ale. We tried to get a piece to modify the green light Jonathan has into a proper-looking Sonic Screwdriver, but no luck there either. This whole time I’m wanting to keel over and die. I probably should see my doctor but dammit I don’t like him.


The “bite” on these turned out SO good. I’ll share the recipe soon.

So we make it home. I think maybe we went somewhere else too, but I forget now. Should have written this sooner, lol. I’m finally starting to feel better. It’s like 11 am, so I immediately start on the breadsticks, because they need to rise. That done, I start the cupcake batter and turn on the oven to preheat.


The guy on the far right dressed as Dr Phil. He’s not in costume here because he had just arrived and needed to borrow Jonathan’s clippers to do the haircut. The non-costumed guy is next to him, followed by, I think, a warlock, Snow White, and Han Solo.

Cupcake batter is finished. I turn around to check the oven, see if it’s up to speed yet. Oddly enough, inside the door, there is no heat. Cue the OH SHIT. We live in on-post military housing, and we have a lovely maintenance crew, but it’s Saturday. It takes us a while to figure out how to get a hold of them on the weekend. Eventually a guy shows up and sadly he seems to have no experience with ovens. He calls another guy, who has him check a few things. Failing that, they decide they’re going to replace the whole thing, but it’ll take both of them. The guy on the phone is unavailable for about an hour. The guy who is at our house leaves to go get the new one ready. It’s now around noon.


The table, just before everyone devoured the food. I’m not entirely pleased with how it turned out. Changes will be made for next year.

An hour passes. I’m getting extremely angry, but we’ve made use of the time. The outdoor decorations are up and look amazing. The house is mostly cleaned (we’re working on it as best as we can). Jonathan made me pin my hair up, even though I was so upset I wanted to pin HIM up. If the guys haven’t fixed my oven by 2, I’m gonna be screwed, since I’ve got several hours of baking to do. They finally show up at like 1345, and my new oven is in place shortly after two. I’m still so frustrated and upset that I’m physically shaking.


Missy playing cards. She laid them all out in lines, forming a square on the floor. No idea why. She had a ton of fun at the party too. She mostly just did her own thing. One couple brought their puppy, so she had a playmate, too.

I turn on the oven and get to work. I am running horribly behind, but that’ll be okay. I’m still putting breadsticks in the oven when the Halleys arrive, and the cupcakes aren’t frosted yet. Ugh. I feel like a horrible hostess. Jonathan explains the situation to arriving guests, which makes me feel better, and we all have a laugh at how major appliances always break the very day that you NEED them to work.


Mark the Warlock and the Wolfman, happily devouring my food. In the background you can see my Nevermore banner, the Cask of Amontillado, and, just behind the Wolfman, the Raven in its cage.

I finally get all the food ready, set out, etc, probably close to an hour late. I stopped looking at the clock. I had taken a few minutes while things were in the oven to put on my costume, which I am still not entirely happy with, but it did turn out pretty well.


This pic was taken the next morning. Don’t tell on me. I like how this turned out even though there was hardly any work involved.

All the guests except one came in costume, which was nice. I am not sure how many people understood or appreciated my glorious theme, but they did like the decor, and the food was DEFINITELY popular.


Spiders took over one of my bookshelves. What do you think? I’m not sure I like how it turned out.

The party, once it got started, was great. We watched The Nightmare before Christmas, and the Corpse Bride. We played Apples to Apples, which was fun, but is even more fun with a group of people who know each other better. My huge batch of breadsticks was decimated, and the eggs were inhaled. The cupcakes turned out amazing, with the blood drops (made of reduced fruit juice), but didn’t go as fast. We made semi-Dark and Stormys, which I liked but others weren’t so sure about. Seems to have been down to the ginger ale. No matter. More for me.


My cask. I love it.

I made the Inside-out Caramel Apples, which were quite popular. I’m widely regarded as a culinary genius now. πŸ™‚ A couple guests had to leave at this point, but it had been 3 or 4 hours at that point, and I think they had actually meant to leave much sooner and were having fun. So that’s kinda awesome. After a while, it was us and three guests, so Jonathan got a poker game going. I dislike poker, so I was happy to be left out. I cleaned up a bit and sat my happy self down and played some Majora’s Mask by myself. Maybe a little antisocial, but nobody minded.


QUOTH THE RAVEN

Sunday, we chilled. We cleaned up the mess, but most of the decor stayed up for a few days. In point of fact, some of the decor is still up as I write. Monday, Halloween, was sadly not a day off of work (but that’s okay, there’s plenty of those this month), but Jonathan did get off in plenty of time. His costume – the Eleventh Doctor – is glorious and awesome. I opted to go for “Impossible Astronaut” River Song (with a jean jacket and a white shirt) instead of the tunic-wearing “Day of the Moon” version. I’m much happier with that one, although on that day I didn’t have the right gun. She’s got a Colt .45 in IA, and the white laser-style gun I made for DotM wasn’t quite right. I went with it, anyway. (And now I have a proper cowboy gun.)


This giant spiderweb is in the corner of our dining room, above the desk. Jonathan won’t let me take it down. That spider has a legspan of about 18 inches, I think

We went trick or treating with a family we are friends with. Our daughters love each other. Missy was going as a Cookie Monster, because it was warmer than her Uniqua costume. The friend was a cat. The other couple didn’t dress up, and neither did most of the other parents out walking their kids, but we didn’t care. We looked awesome. Missy got a LOAD of candy and had a LOAD of fun. We even found a few Nerd Houses, who loved our Doctor-and-River pairing. πŸ™‚


Me as River Song. This was taken after the Trick or Treating, and I felt like an idiot posing. So forgive me if it looks crappy.


Jonathan as The Doctor. This doesn’t do it justice. His costume is epically awesome.

So that’s the story of our Halloween.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

Tweet with me!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

